Irish Racing Yearbook 2018 Now On Sale

Thu 7th Dec 2017, 12:42

Jessica Harrington and Robbie Power
©Healy Racing Photos
The 40th anniversary edition of the Irish Racing Yearbook is currently on sale and as usual is full of entertaining and informative articles as well as a number of special offers.

The Irish Racing Yearbook 2018 features a conversation between Gold Cup winning trainer and jockey Jessica Harrington and Robbie Power penned by Brendan Coffey.

The entire racing industry is covered by leading racing journalists and photographers with the likes of Aidan and Joseph O’Brien, Paddy and Jack Kennedy, Sean Flanagan, Ger Lyons, Richard Johnson, Jamie Spencer, Nina Carberry, Derek Fox, Joe Osborne, PJ McDonald, Conor O’Dwyer, Lisa O’Neill, Jimmy Mangan, Shane Foley and Barry O’Neill also featured.

Robbie McNamara is forthright in some of his observations about racing, while there are many more interviews as well as breeding analysis, stats, race records and fixtures, making it essential reading for the racing enthusiast.

The Yearbook, which is again edited by Daragh O’Conchuir, is available for 21.95 (£19 sterling) in all good newsagents and bookshops, and can also be ordered by phone (056 7761504) or online (

Battaash v Lady Aurelia

Following his breath-taking four length victory in the 2017 running of the Prix de L’Abbaye, it is difficult to envisage that any horse can beat Battaash over 5 furlongs when in that sort of form. It was a stunning performance where he made Group 1 sprinters look ordinary. A field that included the Nunthorpe Stakes winner Marsha in behind. So can he confirm himself as the top sprinter around or will it be another Royal Ascot success for the American speedster Lady Aurelia when the pair clash next month? Here we look at each horses credentials heading in to one of the most anticipated clashes of the season. You can see the latest betting on Royal Ascot now in which Star Sports currently make Battaash 11/4 favourite ahead of 3/1 Lady Aurelia to win the King Stand Stakes on 19th June.