Hickey Elected Senior Steward

Tue 18th Dec 2012, 12:42

The Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee and the Turf Club have announced a number of changes to Stewards which take effect from today.

The appointments were approved by the Members of both bodies at the Summer General Meetings.

Michael Hickey has been elected Senior Steward of the Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee.  He succeeds William Flood. 

Mr. Hickey became a member of the INHSC in 1995 and has served on the Licensing Committee, the Point to Point Committee and the Appeals and Referrals Committee.

He has been a member of the board of Horse Racing Ireland since 2010 serving on ITM, the Board of Punchestown Racecourse and is also on the Programmes Committee Working Group.

He tasted success as a rider on the racetrack and in point to points, while he also represented Ireland in the show jumping arena on many occasions, including in three successive Aga Khan Trophy competitions. 

He runs Sunnyhill Stud, which in the past has stood top national hunt stallions, including Good Thyne, Montelimar and Old Vic. Doyen and Gamut are the present day stallions at the stud.


John Powell is the incoming Deputy Senior Steward of the Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee replacing Michael Hickey.

He became a member in 1994 and was a former Steward. He served on the Licensing Committee, the Referrals Committee and the Handicapping Appeals Body and has stewarded at race meetings countrywide.

Mr. Powell is a veterinary surgeon by profession having served with the Department of Agriculture for over thirty years.

John Tyrrell replaces Charles O’Reilly as a Steward of the Turf Club.  He became a member of the Turf Club in 1996 and has stewarded at all the major tracks.  Mr. Tyrrell has had a long involvement in the bloodstock industry and is currently a director of BBA Ireland.

The Stewards of the Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee are Michael Hickey (Senior Steward), John Powell and Brian Fitzsimmons. 

The Stewards of the Turf Club are Roddy Ryan (Senior Steward), Neville O’Byrne, Ms. Meta Osborne and John Tyrrell.

Nicholls expecting stars to return

Paul Nicholls insists that neither Big Buck's or Al Ferof has sustained career-threatening injuries after ruling them both out for the season.