Halford/Foley/Lordan Crowned Champions!

Fri 21st Dec 2012, 22:09

Racing at Dundalk
©Healy Racing Photos
By Thomas Weekes
Group 1 winner Michael Halford finished 2012 on the 31 winner mark at Dundalk, ensuring he easily won the Crowne Plaza sponsored Leading Trainer's Award for the year, with his stable jockey Shane Foley sharing the Jockeys' equivalent with Wayne Lordan.

Halford's Lily Of Kenmare was his sole winner of the evening at the Co Louth venue today, moving him 11 winners clear of nearest pursuer Eddie Lynam (winner-less tonight). Jim Bolger finished third on 20 wins.

The Jockeys' Title was a little more dramatic with Lily Of Kenmare's rider Gary Carroll replacing Shane Foley who was suspended for the final day's racing. However Wayne Lordan failed to ride a winner from his five rides, meaning the pair shared a perpetual prize and a €1,500 donation to the charity of their choice.

Aladdins Cave takes 2012 curtain call

The Colm Murphy trained Aladdins Cave bravely defied top weight to win the concluding Irish Flat race for 2012, the Crowne Plaza Jockey & Trainer Awards Handicap at Dundalk this evening, scoring under Pat Smullen.