18+ | Commercial Content | T&Cs apply | Wagering and T&Cs apply | Play Responsibly | Advertising Disclosure

Newmarket Racecourse

About Newmarket Rowley Mile Racecourse

Racing is staged at Newmarket?s Rowley Mile in the spring and the autumn and hosts the first two Classics of the Flat season, the 2,000 and 1,000 Guineas. The track is undulating in nature and horses must contest the famous `dip? in the straight which can often cause them to become unbalanced. It tests horses? mentality along with agility as it can catch out horses who lack experience.

About Newmarket July Racecourse

Racing at the July course in Newmarket begins at the end of June and runs until the end of August. The showpiece event at the course is the valuable Group 1 July Cup, a sprint race over five furlongs, hosted on the final day of the July Festival.

The track is a big galloping track with a downhill start and a stiff uphill finish. It has a one-mile straight, known as 'The Bunbury Mile' and uses the Rowley Mile Cesarewitch course for longer distances, before turning right into the straight.

History of Newmarket Racecourses

Newmarket is known as the headquarters of flat racing and boasts extensive history. It was in Newmarket where racing was born in the early 17th century due to a Royal interest in the sport.

Under the reign of James I, racing took off in Newmarket and in 1622, the first ever match race was staged, competing for the prize of 100 pounds. The racecourse was officially founded in 1636.

King Charles II was a regular attendee of racing on the town?s heath when the King?s Plate and the Town Plate were the principal races until 1974 when two more plate races were added to the fixtures. Since then racing and its facilities in Newmarket have continued to grow and expand and is now home to more than 3,000 racehorses.

Newmarket Fixtures

  • Tue, 16th April, 2024
  • Wed, 17th April, 2024
  • Thu, 18th April, 2024
  • Fri, 3rd May, 2024
  • Sat, 4th May, 2024
  • Sun, 5th May, 2024
  • Fri, 17th May, 2024
  • Sat, 18th May, 2024
  • Sun, 19th May, 2024
  • Fri, 21st June, 2024 (e)
  • Sat, 22nd June, 2024
  • Thu, 27th June, 2024
  • Fri, 28th June, 2024 (e)
  • Sat, 29th June, 2024
  • Thu, 11th July, 2024
  • Fri, 12th July, 2024
  • Sat, 13th July, 2024
  • Fri, 19th July, 2024 (e)
  • Sat, 20th July, 2024
  • Fri, 2nd August, 2024 (e)
  • Sat, 3rd August, 2024
  • Fri, 9th August, 2024 (e)
  • Sat, 10th August, 2024
  • Fri, 16th August, 2024 (e)
  • Sat, 17th August, 2024
  • Fri, 23rd August, 2024
  • Sat, 24th August, 2024
  • Sat, 21st September, 2024
  • Thu, 26th September, 2024
  • Fri, 27th September, 2024
  • Sat, 28th September, 2024
  • Sat, 5th October, 2024
  • Fri, 11th October, 2024
  • Sat, 12th October, 2024
  • Wed, 23rd October, 2024
  • Fri, 1st November, 2024
  • Sat, 2nd November, 2024

Newmarket Latest Results

Saturday , 4th Nov 2023

3.57 Newmarket
1st
22/1
2nd
2.25L
22/1
3rd
hd
4/1fav
4th
nk
14/1
1558912917
Tote Win £23.00 ; Plc £3.00, £4.70, £1.70, £3.80
Trainer , Dylan Cunha
Jockey , Kyle Strydom
Owner , Mr Craig Miller
Breeder , Summerhill B/Stock & Lynch Bages Ltd
3.22 Newmarket
1st
6/1
2nd
nk
7/4fav
3rd
3.5L
3/1
4th
1.25L
20/1
1523132526
Tote Win £7.20 ; Plc £2.80, £1.50
Trainer , William Knight
Owner , Mr A Hetherton
Breeder , Meon Valley Stud
2.47 Newmarket
1st
9/1
2nd
2L
12/1
3rd
1L
14/1
4th
1.75L
4/1Jfav
14491038412
Tote Win £10.00 ; Plc £2.30, £3.90, £4.30
Beaten Fav You Got To Me (GB)4/1Jfav
Trainer , John Gosden
Owner , Cheveley Park Stud
Breeder , Cheveley Park Stud Limited
2.10 Newmarket
1st
4/1fav
2nd
0.5L
28/1
3rd
1.5L
14/1
4th
nk
66/1
14111043314
Tote Win £5.10 ; Plc £2.00, £7.40, £4.60
Trainer , W Stone
Owner , Mr Ron Spore
Breeder , Mr Richard Evans
1.37 Newmarket
1st
4/1
2nd
7.5L
7/2
3rd
nk
6/1
4th
2.25L
5/6fav
1337118706
Tote Win £5.00 ; Plc £2.00, £1.90
Trainer , M W Easterby
Owner , Mr J Blackburn Racing
Breeder , Mr Berend Van Dalfsen
1.02 Newmarket
1st
Momaer  (9)
9/1
2nd
nk
Ramiro  (17)
8/1
3rd
1.25L
Aplomb  (5)
9/1
4th
0.75L
25/1
1304765016
Tote Win £10.70 ; Plc £2.30, £2.50, £3.10, £7.20
Beaten Fav Tiriac (GB)11/2fav
Owner , Mr D S Lovatt
Breeder , Sinead & Paul Leahy & Michael Whelan
12.27 Newmarket
1st
Orne  (5)
10/1
2nd
1.25L
8/1
3rd
0.75L
9/1
4th
hd
4/1
122892628
Tote Win £11.00 ; Plc £2.50, £2.00, £2.60
Beaten Fav Telemark 2/1fav
Trainer , John Gosden
Jockey , R Havlin
Owner , Al Shaqab Racing
Breeder , Rathbarry Stud
11.52 Newmarket
1st
13/2
2nd
0.75L
9/4
3rd
1L
2/1fav
4th
2.25L
11/2
1154941210
Tote Win £7.50 ; Plc £1.80, £1.20, £1.40
Trainer , David Simcock
Jockey , Hayley Turner
Owner , Sheikh Juma Dalmook Al Maktoum
Breeder , Roundhill Stud
11.20 Newmarket
1st
6/1
2nd
2.5L
15/8fav
3rd
2.25L
12/1
4th
nk
7/1
1121948810
Tote Win £7.50 ; Plc £2.00, £1.20, £3.60
Trainer , William Haggas
Jockey , D Tudhope
Owner , Clipper
Breeder , Rabbah Bloodstock Limited

Newmarket Favourite Statistics

Flat Non-Handicap
TypeRacesFav Wins%Win
2-y-o96037739
3-y-o57223842
4-y-o+2739133
Total180570639
Flat Handicap
TypeRacesFav Wins%Win
2-y-o1554328
3-y-o97435036
4-y-o+90721824
Total203661130

Newmarket Leading Trainer

Trainer

Newmarket Leading Jockey

Jockey

Newmarket Leading Sire

Sire

Newmarket Racecourse Contact Details

Newmarket Racecourse,
Westfield House, The Links,
Cambridge Road, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 8ES.
Tel:01638 675500
Website: www.thejockeyclub.co.uk/newmarket/
E-Mail: [email protected]
Twitter Icon @NewmarketRace